Winter storm damage tops $30 million; 5 counties to get federal aid

Lane, Douglas and Coos counties are among the five Oregon counties that will receive federal funding.

Posted: May 2, 2019 3:27 PM

EUGENE, Ore. -- A federal disaster declaration was approved for five Oregon counties on Thursday, making federal funds available to areas hit hard by February’s winter storm, Gov. Kate Brown said.

A preliminary damage assessment documented more than $30 million in damages due to the storm.

Lane, Douglas and Coos counties are among the five Oregon counties hit the hardest by the snowstorm, which caused power outages, flooding, landslides and road closures between Feb. 23 and 26. Curry and Jefferson counties are also included in the declaration.

Oakridge was among the hardest hit, with the closure of Highway 58 leaving many residents cut off from services for days -- weeks in some cases.

The money will be available to state and eligible local governments and certain nonprofits for emergency work and repairs needed after the storm in the five counties.

Article Comments

44° wxIcon
Hi: 53° Lo: 49°
Feels Like: 39°
44° wxIcon
Hi: 50° Lo: 48°
Feels Like: 38°
44° wxIcon
Hi: 55° Lo: 48°
Feels Like: 44°
North Bend
46° wxIcon
Hi: 53° Lo: 51°
Feels Like: 41°
KEZI Radar
KEZI Temperatures
KEZI Planner