Photo Gallery 3 Images
EUGENE, Ore. -- Marijuana dispensaries in five regions in Oregon sold marijuana to under-aged customers, according to the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. That includes three retailers in Eugene and Springfield.
In December, decoys across Oregon were sent out to numerous licensed marijuana retailers. They visited 19 shops in the Eugene-Springfield area. Officials said Hi Cascade, Buds LLC, and Sweet Leaf Cannabis of Eugene sold marijuana products to minors.
"These overall results are unacceptable," said Steve Marks, executive director of the OLCC. "One of the basic tenets of Measure 91 is the protection of children by discouraging their use of marijuana."
The OLCC conducts these enforcement operations to ensure that marijuana retailers comply with state laws.
"This is a wake-up call to our licensed retailers. Oregonians have entrusted you with a responsibility that includes not selling marijuana to minors. By doing so you tarnish the cannabis industry and put your business in jeopardy," said Marks.
In a statement, Hi Cascade said they were taking precations to make sure selling to minors does not happen again, but wouldn't go into specifics.
The owner of Sweet Leaf Cannabis said they have since fired the employee who sold to the minor. The manager of Buds LLC said they are now requiring two forms of I.D. and are providing additional training for employees.
One of the stores that passed was Eugene OG, located off Franklin Blvd. Alex Traylor, the manager of the store, said compliance with state laws are a top priority.
"We want to be here as long as we can," Traylor said. "We want to be able to offer medicine to people who truly need it and keep it out of the hands of folks who definetly don't, like children and that sort of thing. We are very, very strong believers that the regulations where they sit currently are just about as important and straight to the point as they need to be."
It is against the law for individuals who are 20 years old or younger to buy marijuana products. Violators could get their license suspended for up to 30 days or be fined $1650.
- Three area pot shops caught selling marijuana to minors
- Two Eugene marijuana shops caught selling marijuana to minors
- Dispensaries react to proposed marijuana shop buffer zone
- Oregon allows medical marijuana deliveries in banned areas
- Bill would allow Oregon to export marijuana to other legal-pot states
- SPECIAL REPORT: Pets on Pot
- Pot buffer zone moves forward
- CAUGHT ON CAMERA: Thief caught nabbing safe from Toxic Wings
- Oregon lawmakers prepare for interstate pot commerce
- Oregon struggles to track marijuana