PORTLAND, Ore. – A rule increasing penalties for marijuana retailers that sell marijuana to minors takes effect Friday.
The new rule allows a marijuana worker’s permit to be revoked if the person intentionally sells marijuana to a minor.
It increases the penalty for the unintentional sale of marijuana to a minor to a 30-day license suspension or a $4,950 fine. Previously the penalty was a 10-day license suspension or a $1,650 fine.
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission re-evaluated penalties after reviewing compliance from recent sting operations. For example, December visits to the Eugene-Springfield area resulted in sales to minors at three stores. Marijuana was also sold to minors by licensed marijuana retailers elsewhere in the state.
“There’s no margin for error on making sure that marijuana doesn’t get in the hands of minors - period,” said Paul Rosenbaum, OLCC commission chair. “The integrity of Oregon's regulated system depends on industry compliance across the board.”
The new rule is temporary, and the OLCC will review compliance during the six months the new penalties are in place. At the end of that time, the OLCC will consider whether to make the rule permanent.
“It's our core mission at the OLCC to prevent the sale of marijuana to minors,” said Steve Marks, executive director. “The early results are unacceptable and we'll keep holding retailers and their employees accountable until they get it right.”
- OLCC increases penalties for underage sales of marijuana
- OLCC fines Coos Bay marijuana dispensary
- Senate bill increases penalty for strangulation
- Oregon marijuana prices dive and sales soar
- OLCC study shows an oversupply of cannabis in Oregon
- Washington state ends death penalty
- Underage drinking a concern as students head back to college
- Study shows increase in marijuana use among older generations
- New bill to increase penalties on strangulation cases could impact survivors
- Two Eugene marijuana shops caught selling marijuana to minors